Spaghetti & Meatballs

Friday morning I texted Babs that I wanted to make meatballs. We looked up meatball recipes on YouTube, as we do, and found some great options. We went on to watch tutorials on making the tomato sauce, and then spiralled into videos on making the pasta noodles.

Babs’ mom found a pasta machine at a garage sale for $5. Sooo hey! Why not make the whole works? Meatballs, sauce and pasta! It was just one of those evenings where I was on a mission. And what pairs well with determination? Wine!

For the meatballs! No particular recipe, just our preference of everything we saw.

We went with a ground pork and ground beef mix. I added, in no particular amounts, salt, pepper, smoked paprika, chopped chilli pepper, fresh rosemary, garlic, mushrooms, caramelized onions (from the YouTube tutorials, caramelized onions, as opposed to raw onions, were a common ingredient), minced zucchini, cilantro, olive oil and breadcrumbs (which I burnt on two separate occasions).

For the pasta noodles, Babs’ and I soaked the machine in hot water with vinegar to clean it and the first dough we ran through we tossed. We mostly wanted it to pick up anything we missed in the spaces.
I used a fresh pasta recipe from Ricardo Cuisine. I enlisted Babs for the rolling part. It could be done on my own but for the first batch it made sense for us both to know how to use it and what works/what doesn’t.

And in with the sauce!

I’m horrified that I did not get a photo of the finished product. But I must have just hoovered it as soon as it was on my plate because it was good! Next round I’ll snap a pic to show for sure!

K! Made it again and here’s the finished product! 

2 Comments Add yours

    1. That’s awesome! The meatballs and sauce freeze well if you don’t plan to use them up in one go. I love making a big batch of meatballs, then I’m good for a while 🙂 Thank you for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

